Discover Your Island

Meet Our Staff

Mission Statement

The mission of the Registrar's Office is to:

  • Support the academic mission of the university by providing efficient, effective and expedient services while striving to ensure the accuracy, integrity, consistency, objectivity, security and longevity of academic records.
  • Provide excellence in service within the constraints of federal law and university policy while striving to maintain fairness to all.
  • Effectively communicate procedures and responsibilities for the successful use of our services which include: registration, transcripts, enrollment & degree verification, diplomas, classroom scheduling, maintenance of course data and exam schedule, student data stewardship and reporting.

Missy Chapa

University Registrar
Phone: 361.825.2850

Email: Melissa.Chapa@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: General administration, FERPA Compliance Officer,  academic data (student and course data), graduation and commencement activities, Banner, and customer service.

Christie Roberts

Associate University Registrar
Phone: 361.825.2276

Email: Christie.Roberts@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Ad Astra scheduling, NCAA, National Student Clearinghouse, system projects, enrollment and degree verifications, appeals, manage and monitor all course creation activities, grades, and customer service.  Oversees Degree Works scribe staff.

Dana Pence

Assistant University Registrar
Phone: 361.825.2515

Email: Dana.Pence@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Graduation and Commencement activities, course inventory, transcripts, change catalog year requests in Banner, degree audits of undergraduate student, and customer service.

Cassandra Valadez

Administrative Associate III
Phone: 361.825.2850

Email: Cassandra.Valadez@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Registrar Calendar, administrative support, travel, business support, appeals, and customer service. 

Liz Romo

Records Specialist I
Phone: 361.825.2051

Email: Liz.Romo@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Data clerk, verification of enrollments and changes of biographical data sheets, call center, auditing and awarding of degrees, customer service.

Stephanie Diores

Records Specialist I
Phone: 361.825.2516

Email: Stephanie.Diores@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Process applications of graduation, Tuition Rebates, B-on-Time loan requests, Pass-no Pass requests, and change catalog year requests in Banner, degree audits of undergraduate student, and customer service.

Samantha Prater

Records Specialist II
Phone: 361.825.2489

Email: Samantha.Prater@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Create, implement, research, and maintain e-marketing initiatives to better communicate with customer base, via email marketing, social media, virtual environments, etc. 

Samantha Barrera

Records Specialist I
Phone: 361.825.3271

Email: Samantha.Barrera@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Ad Astra scheduler, call center, duplicate diplomas, back up for verification of enrollments, transcript backup, customer service, and appeals processor.

Rebecca Valdez

Transcript Specialist 
Phone: 361.825.2626

Email: Rebecca.Valdez@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Scanning, imaging and indexing document, assist with grading process and end of term processes, perform graduation audits for graduate students, center kiosk, customer service, print transcripts and diplomas.

Leopoldo Gomez

Records Specialist I
Phone: 361.825.3499

Email: Leopoldo.Gomez@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Service Center kiosk, processes student registration adds, drops, and withdrawals, change of grade, change of major, process applications of graduation, and customer service.

Mary Sanchez

Degree Audit Coordinator
Phone: 361.825.2574

Email: Mary.Sanchez@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Oversees Degree Works scribing and graduation clearance

Kumar Kurapati

Degree Audit Specialist
Phone: 361.825. 2501

Email: Kumar.Kurapati@tamucc.edu 

Job duties: Degree Works scribing and graduation clearance